GeoDB Cities API


There are currently no blog comments.

Administrative Divisions Are Here

In addition to regular cities and towns, GeoDB now supports 2nd-level administrative divisions, with currently over 17,000 in the database. These typically represent counties and districts, depending on the country.

Because the difference between what is considered a city or a district can sometimes be a matter of semantics in certain countries, GeoDB returns both types by default from any of the existing cities endpoints. To delineate between the two, all cities endpoints now expose a new optional types param which can be used to specify one or the other type (CITY or ADM2) to return.

In addition, the following new endpoint operations are now available to explicitly support returning administrative divisions only (this is a convenience as all of the same data may be returned from existing cities endpoints using types=[ADM2] as a constraint):

Please have a look at the updated docs for full details. Enjoy!

Go Back